The interview and big news

My interview for the NHTD waiver went amazingly well!! Essentially, they must determine what level of care you require, and if you qualify, they will get the services you require to live independently. This can include assistance with accessible housing, if necessary. Oh, it’s necessary! The RN who I met with said, in no uncertain terms, that I qualify. I thought I would, but I had no idea what this would actually mean for me.

Well, it means EVERYTHING! In fact, it was determined my need for suitable housing is urgent, so that’s actually the first thing they are addressing. This isn’t typical. It is usually something they work on later in the process for the majority of people. I’ve signed some documents related to housing and about a week from now, I’ll actually get word of where I’ll be moving to! All I really know is that it will be somewhere in Suffolk. I’m holding back my celebrating a bit, because, until I see the lease filled out in front of me and have an address, it’s not definite. I have their word, but I need it set in stone before I feel confident enough to announce I have a place to live.

In the meantime, I have had the job of interviewing and hiring a service coordinator that I’ll work with directly to obtain things like a home health aide and to plan my first year of independent, accessible living. I’m in the midst of that process now. My next step is to meet with my potentional coordinator. My first meeting is Tuesday and everyone at this particular agency seems friendly and wanting to help. I was told to interview a few, but I didn’t even feel confident in moving forward with any of the other agencies I called so far.

I was told to start packing, so that’s the other big thing keeping me busy. How does one who throws things out and organizes and sorts for fun accumulate so much stuff? My friends have been helpful with tips and I’ve accomplished a lot, but have a lot more to go. I’ve made lists of essential items I can pick up cheap at particular stores and even created an Ikea gift registry after I realized I’ll need a new linens, my own towels, kitchen items and just about everything needed for a household of one. I like making and working from lists, so I’m trying not to worry about paying for it all. Instead, I’ve focused on how many of these items I can get from Dollar Tree and thrifting. I love a good deal!

image
My bedroom is a packing nightmare!

I’m excited, hopeful, nervous, overwhelmed, overjoyed and still waiting for someone to pinch me. I didn’t see this coming, but I’m really happy it is! Thank you all for the support and prayers. I’ll be sure to let you know as soon as I get confirmation!

This zebra’s journey continues.

image
Most of all, you must believe good things will come, you just have to be willing to do the work and stay true.
One thought on “The interview and big news

Leave a Reply

