I’m hanging in

I get a lot of friends asking how I’m doing. My response for months has been “I’m hanging in” accompanied by a small smile most of the time. A neighbor I hadn’t seen in over a decade commented on my positive attitude and way of thinking. I thanked them, but honestly, I don’t know any other way to be. I can’t drag others down with my troubles. Even my best friend will attest to me asking permission to be blunt. I’m not a pessimistic person, but surely no optimist!

I love the truth. Even if it stings me at first. Another thing I tend to say a lot is “I make a point to share my positive opinions and if nothing else, you’ll get the truth from me.” I think the key is tact. I don’t like conflict or having my words twisted or taken the wrong way. I hate to see a friendship end over miscommunication. I think honesty is always best, you just have to consider all possible reactions and approach touchy subjects in a way that particular person will best receive it. This is much easier said than done!

But I digress. I guess I was just thinking of all the bad advice, broken promises and and disappointment I’ve been crashing into over the past 2 years. I had a meeting with my housing advocate and the news is mostly as scant and bleak as it was before, except for one huge chance I have. I’ve had my hope dashed and I’ve fallen apart, so I’m trying to be cautiously optimistic, but this is it. It will work out.

After an interview I have this coming Thursday, I will have a better idea of this plan can even work. I have a chance at a place only about 30 minutes from where I live now which is completely wheelchair friendly! I don’t believe in coincidence and there is a lot falling into place just in time. I have to believe this is all meant to be and will indeed work out as planned. So much for caution, I am getting this home! Baruch HaShem!

2 thoughts on “I’m hanging in

Leave a Reply

