Wheels in motion

I didn’t mean for the title to refer to two great things. Happy accident!

I have finally reached an organization that wishes to assist me. They had me speak with three different departments which could provide assistance to me in the areas of housing, home care aide and case management. This is huge! Nothing is going to happen overnight, but they feel the urgency and after just speaking with them yesterday, I’ve received forms to start on,  numbers to call and a promise for a check in once they have some of the initial steps done. I’ve already followed up in all the ways they told me to and I feel enouragred. Things are looking up.

To top it off, my “other parents” who live in Philadelphia are coming up to Long Island in a few weeks to stay for three days. I’ve missed them so very much,  but they have plans for work. To get me a home and find the things I need that I have been hitting dead ends on. They booked a hotel suite and I’ll stay with them to optimize our time together. It means the world to me to have people, of no official relation to me care so much. They truly love me and I them. I say this to my dearest friends all the time,  but G-d truly did provide for me a family, just not in the conventional sense.

I haven’t felt this confident that I’d have a safe and accessible home before. I’m staying cautiously optimistic because looking back, I’ve had other things seem promising just to have them fall through or even set me back!  The difference now is that I have the right people with the right resources and the best of intentions all in one. If Marc, Rhonda or Susan read this, I know you told me not to thank you yet, but I have to express my appreciation. You have no idea what I’ve been through up until now and I finally feel hopeful.

It has been over 2 years in the making, but the journey has just begun. It can’t be coincidence that I’ve been receiving a lot of guidance from HaShem in the past few weeks. I feel a sense of peace I’ve never had before. I also felt compelled to cover my hair all the time,  not just for prayer, shabbat, etc. You know how I mentioned I had a direct hit to my self-worth a little while back? It’s gone. With the approval of a few trusted rabbis, I now wear mitpachat/tichel and I’ve never felt more connected through a mitzvah, so comfortable and secure and just more like myself. I know it’s not for everyone, but I’m embracing it fully and it feels natural to me. It’s admittedly practical as well, because I’ve been experiencing hair loss due to anemia.

image
It's me! 2/26/16

It has been a time of big change and for the first time in a long time, I’m excited for the future!

4 thoughts on “Wheels in motion

  1. As I sit here reading this, there are tears of joy coming down my cheeks! This is the most positive blog from you in a long time!! I am overjoyed that things are moving in the right direction for you! Praise God!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy to hear(read) you sounding so positive! I hope that it all works out, and soon; although it always takes longer than we think, doesn’t it? I am also glad you have joined those of us who wear tichels! I can’t, often, because I need someone else to put it on and tie it, and you of all people must know how hard THAT is. But when I can it definitely makes me eel better about me. Lately I’ve taken to wearing a snood I knitted, and my daughter sewed to a headband, because it protects my ears from drafts. Nice, but not as good as a nicely tied tichel. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

