Things you may not know

After reading this post, please comment with any questions you may have. I want to clarify and fill in any blanks, so please ask anything you wish.

When I began this blog 1 year ago, I had a few rules for myself: always be honest and transparent, attempt to connect with and help others in similar situations, accept any and all suggestions in getting housing placement and a few more that escape me at the moment!

For so many years I hid, lied about and defended the mistreatment and abuse at home. No one wants to believe the people closest to you can hurt you so deeply. Plus, it’s shameful in our society to say your mother wasn’t a good mother. In fact, you’re judged very harshly for such statements, even when a detailed description of this mistreatment accompanies it. So, let me be very clear: my mother has many faults and is limited in her ability to be a mother, but she’s not a bad person and I do love her. She has recently made statements and threats that break my heart and being away from her would be the best thing for me, but I do wish her the best.

I’m very alone in my quest to get accessible housing and as time passes, I get more and more hopeless. Lately, it has been bad at home again, but I have nowhere to go. I don’t have any relatives willing to take me in on a temporary basis and I’m extremely gunshy after my last domestic abuse safe house placement going so badly.

I’m effectively laying all my hope at the feet of local politicians and state representatives. Meanwhile, there’s a big scandal involving my local government. Then there’s the holidays, where let’s be honest, very little work gets done in such offices.

Back in October, I set an end date of late February, to give plenty of time for an answer to come regarding housing. I’m barely holding onto hope, but I figure this is a reasonable deadline. What I’ll do if that somehow doesn’t work our in time…. Well, I just don’t know. I don’t see any other options. All I’m asking for is safe, accessible living conditions and I don’t understand why that is so difficult….

If all my efforts lead my nowhere, what do I do?

3 thoughts on “Things you may not know

  1. I don’t have any answers, but I have been in a similar situation in many particulars. My mother was and is horribly abusive, my housing situation has been a problem, a serious problem, for a long time. I don’t know what you can do in the U.S., so I have no suggestions or advice. Only my experience which tells me that a miracle is often waiting write around the corner – I just need to let go of only what I can see, and trust that I will be taken care of somehow. I got away from my mother to marry someone who turned out to be abusive as well. This decade’s miracle was The Husband transforming into a good husband who not only doesn’t abuse me, but is actually somewhat supportive. After thirty years. So I will keep you in my prayers, and keep hoping for the miracle that we can’t see yet, but is surely waiting behind some blind corner – as long as you are open to it.

    I wish I could offer concrete help, but all I have is my prayers, and friendship. Wishing you all the best.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

