Insomnia & Akathisia

image

I’ve been having bouts of cyclic vomiting and lack of appetite. I’ve been making sure to it least stay hydrated and not exacerbate things by riding in the car too much. Now something new has popped up.

This is the 3rd night I had little or no sleep. I became so desperate yesterday, that I called my doctor’s emergency service so I could get some meds that would hopefully
improve things. In just 32 or so hours, I was desperate. If it hadn’t let up somewhat I can’t say I wouldn’t have done something drastic. I just couldn’t have that severe restlessness a moment longer. From what my doc had me read, it’s not exactly uncommon for do me one with unbearable akathisia to commit suicide! I really can’t blame them. I checked myself into care after experiencing akathisia almost exactly 4 years ago. That really scares me..

My doctor was puzzled as to why I was experiencing something that is typically either related to Parkinson’s Disease or some antipsychotic and Neuroleptic meds.if anything, my neuropathy medicine should have prevented it lessened the akathisia.

Despite having the medication (Artane), I did not sleep even for a minute last night. In fact, a few hours after eating anything, it all came up quite violently. I’m clearly not digesting properly either. I wonder if there’s any relation. I wonder if I’m missing something. I’m beyond sick of being bedridden over something I feel isn’t being addressed properly.

image
Unsuccessful attempt at sleep very late last night.

Along with sleep deprivation, I’m weak and dizzy and my vision is blurred, presumably due to the Artane. I can’t hold a though in my head and I’m extremely irritable and agitated night and day.

I’m at a loss. As things stand, I can get around. I feel so trapped. I’d do anything to leave. If only someone would take me in on a temporary basis of I’m afraid I’ll end up somewhere unsafe. What can I actually do?

2 thoughts on “Insomnia & Akathisia

  1. Oh my goodness. I am praying for you, Dani. I am praying; I was led to pray for you, here.
    Dear Lord Jesus, I pray in Your Name that this restlessness, anxiety, and feeling of doom would end for Dani. You said, in Your darkest hour to Your disciples, ‘Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full. …These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world'” (John 16:24-28, 33). You are Peace, Lord Jesus; I pray that Dani would have You, and would have everything she needs. Please, Lord Jesus, bring her stomach peace as well; I pray for a sense of calm to come over Dani, and I pray that she would be blessed, as all blessings come from You alone. Bind and rebuke the enemy, and save her from all of this, Lord Jesus. In Your Name I pray, Amen.
    You are not alone, Dani. You are VERY Loved, by Christ and us. Have Peace in and with Him today. Bless you.

    Love in Christ,
    Annalee

    Like

  2. Hey, I’ve been searching akathisia on wordpress and came upon your blog entry. My akathisia makes me so suicidal! but it’s better than depression or mania. How are you now?

    Like

Leave a Reply

