Blessed

image

I just got off the phone with my neighbor, Ken and I was thinking of the people who have entered my life and not run scared when they learn about my massive pile of issues.

Of course my best friend Melissa whom I’ve known since I was 15 years old. We’ve both changed so much over the years, yet our friendship has only become stronger. We can be having the worst time and still manage to make each other laugh. The best part is, I know I can trust her with anything.

I was ultimately abandoned by friends from high school when I had to leave and earn my diploma via tutors who came to my home 3-4 times a week. Then the various jobs and volunteer work where I made friends and learned the hard way they were the fair weather kind. I really miss my classmates from esthetics school. I had a lovely group of women to work with there. I’d love to reconnect with some of them, but I’m doubtful it will occur.

I made a few friends whilst in the hospital at Payne Whitney and we keep in touch online. I felt I finally knew others who could relate to a lot of my personal struggles in one way or another. It’s like there’s an unspoken understanding. Even that place had its blessings.

As I previously shared in my post about instagram, that’s been an amazing opportunity to meet people who share interests and I’ve made real friends there. In fact, I’ve made lifelong friends online. I have a tight knit group of women like myself who battle assorted medical problems and I consider them my sisters. We met in our teens and I can’t imagine not having them in my life. Unfortunately, one I was particularly close with passed away unexpectedly a few years ago, but that’s for another post. Her death caused a hole in my heart that could never be filled again.

I started off by mentioning Ken. He told me he’s been reading this blog and keeping me in his prayers which means more to me than I can express. He’s shown kindness and acceptance (without pity) at times where I felt so incredibly alone. He, his wife and family have all been welcoming and a pleasure to be around, too.

I would change my circumstances and environment, but would not change the fact that I’m sick or disabled. Not to be clichĂ©, but I like who it has shaped me and the blessings it has brought to me.

👉 My next entry will be about my personal dealings with Autism! I know a lot of you have asked if I planned to write about it, so keep an eye out in the next day or so!

One thought on “Blessed

Leave a Reply

