Are you kidding me?!

I applied for SPA housing (mental health supportive housing) in 2013 and have stayed on top of the supplemental parts of the application my clinicians were responsible for. Apparently, someone dropped the ball on my end or theirs!

I called today to inquire on the status of my application. I hadn’t heard anything in months, and thank goodness I thought to call. I found out I must start from scratch and any place in line I may have had is gone. They are sending me a new application to fill out. My stomach sank to hear this news. I stay on top of everything! Can everyone else involved just please do the simple task of providing the necessary documentation? On second thought, on my last call to check on things, they said only my medical report was missing, so I submitted that personally. So which is it? I guess it doesn’t matter, because I’m simply out of luck.

I’m so close to giving up. I just don’t see how I could possibly get a place to live aside from showing up at a homeless shelter and subjecting my weakened, disabled body to unnecessary stress and potentially unsafe conditions. The one bit of “help” the racist woman from APS suggested was exactly this. She said this would then “get me in the system.”

Where do I go from here? I feel like I’m drowning and no one can save me.

2 thoughts on “Are you kidding me?!

Leave a Reply

