As things stand…

As of this moment and the circumstances I’m in housing-wise and health-wise, I am starting to think that I may need to consider at least a temporary stay in a nursing home. I can’t believe I just typed those words and I’m not even sure what the process is, but where I am right now, my health is needlessly suffering. This leads to me to think perhaps this idea isn’t that far-fetched.
Ideally, I want to live on my own and as independently as possible, but with the wait for housing as it is now, this may be something to consider in the interim. Even if I had my own place, I would need a home health aide for the tasks I simply can’t do myself and maybe I could get myself stronger and more comfortable with the fairly new physically limitations that have been put upon me. Everytime I go to one of my doctors, they tell me I shouldn’t be doing or thing or another or I’m not doing what I should be to maintain what abilities I still have. It gets aggravating because I simply have no other option. It is what it is! I have to crawl on my hands and knees at times, I am unable to use the stairs at times and right now, I’m having to adjust back to daily activities with use of just one arm. Yes, it was just confirmed that the extensive reconstructive surgery I had on my shoulder several years back is failing thanks to Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome. They could keep putting me through painful surgeries and exceptionally long recoveries just to have this always be the end result. My body is just not able to withstand what the average body can. It scares the hell out of me.

Could this really be a viable option? Would I just be making another terrible mistake? Will I possibly be mistreated or worse? Will I simply be miserable in that kind of living situation? So many questions that I’m not sure I can get the answers to. I don’t even know where to begin.

If you or a loved one is disabled or lives with chronic illness and lives in a care facility or has any experience in that area, please reach out by commenting here or e-mailing at the address in my About page. Any input is greatly appreciated.

4 thoughts on “As things stand…

  1. I really, really wish I lived close enough to be your advocate & find a place for you to live. There are good & bad nursing homes, just like everything else in life. My prayer is for you to find something that will alleviate your problems. Hang in there!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’s wonderful that you are sharing your story and I wish you all the strength and courage needed in your difficult journey, and a stroke of luck to find adequate housing for yourself.
    Hugs from Montreal! xox

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

